Mobile menu

  1. Orange
  2. Blue
  3. Purple
  4. Green
  5. Light Blue
  6. Dark Blue

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

Six Mississippi teachers have been named 2021 state-level finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). The PAEMST Program is the nation’s highest honor for teachers of mathematics and science (including computer science).

Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

This year Rankin County School District had two among the six state finalists.

‌‌Dr. Trisha Gilbreath from Northwest Rankin High School, who teaches AP Calculus, Digital Electronics and Principles of Engineering, said, “I want my students to leave my classroom with three important lessons – they are loved, their ideas are valuable, and they can achieve far more than they ever expected.”

Kenneth Peagler from Brandon High School, who teaches Physics, Physical Science, AP Physics and AP Computer Science, said, “Teaching is not about finding or creating the most rigorous and/or entertaining tasks; instead, it’s about using your content to build engaged students, that love to learn, that can take any task and will think, persevere, and exceed any goals set for them.”

The Mississippi State Board of Education will recognize Mississippi’s 2021 PAEMST finalists later this year. National winners are announced approximately a year after state-level finalists are identified.